Latest Notices to Mariners (NTM)
Date: 2017-12-15
Issue No.: 25

Latest Notices to Mariners (eNTM of HKENC)
Date: 2017-12-08
Issue No.: 25_2017

Home > Services > DGPS - Correction Service

The Differential Global Positioning System (DGPS) of the Marine Department was upgraded to Differential Global Navigation Satellite System (DGNSS) in March 2016. The broadcasting service is free and the correction signals can be received in all waters of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR). Any user equipped with a standard DGPS/DGNSS receiver can make use of the correction signals to improve the accuracy of their positions. Although the reference station system is DGNSS ready, it only broadcasts DGPS correction signals of the Radio Technical Commission for Maritime Services (RTCM) SC-104 version 2.0 format before the official launch of the 2.4 format.

An Aerial View of the DGNSS Reference Station on Kau Yi Chau
An Aerial View of the DGNSS Reference Station on Kau Yi Chau

System Configuration

The reference station system has two major components, namely the Central Reference Station on Kau Yi Chau and the Control Station on Stonecutters Island. By using a 3G mobile network, the two major components are connected to form a complete system. System Configuration
*Click to enlarge

Technical Details of the Broadcasting Service

Broadcasting Period: 24 hours continuously
Station ID: 852 & 853
Frequency: 289.0 kHz
Bit Rate: 200 bps
Modulation Mode: Minimum Shift Keying
Differential Data Format: Radio Technical Commission for Maritime Services (RTCM)
SC-104 Version 2.0 format
Coverage: All waters of the HKSAR
RTCM Message Type: 1,3,5,7 and 16
Signal Warning: Type 16 'screen pop-up' message

The Central Reference Station on Kau Yi Chau

The Central Reference Station on Kau Yi Chau consists of two GNSS reference stations, a Near Field Integrity Monitor (NFIM) and a Radio Transmission System. All system instruments, including two NetR9 GNSS reference station receivers, two NetM3 MSK modulators, a NetR9 IM receiver, a set of dual 200W radio transmitters, a 3G digital router with firewall, and a Reference Station Integrity Monitor (RSIM) computer, are collectively installed in a RSIM rack. The RSIM computer is connected to the computer system of the Control Station on Stonecutters Island through a 3G mobile network. The two reference stations, each consisting of a 440-channel dual frequency GNSS reference station receiver and a geodetic grade Choke Ring Antenna, are set up at two known survey points on Kau Yi Chau. One is active while the other serves as a redundant unit. The receiver receives and records the ranges from satellites within its observation extent. By making comparison between the observed ranges to individual satellites and their respective values, range corrections to satellites can be determined. The correction signals are broadcast continuously by the Radio Transmission System.

To monitor the quality of broadcast correction signals, an NFIM is set up near the broadcasting site. Similar to the GNSS reference stations, the NFIM is DGNSS ready and set up at a known survey point. It receives the broadcast correction signals and applies to its pseudo-range observations to generate corrected coordinates. The corrected coordinates are then compared with known survey values to work out the positional discrepancies. These discrepancies are continuously monitored in real time to safeguard the quality of broadcast correction signals.

The Reference Station, Broadcasting Antenna and Anti-lightning Rod

The Reference Station, Broadcasting Antenna and Anti-lightning Rod

The Broadcasting Antenna

The Broadcasting Antenna

RSIM Rack and Power Supply

RSIM Rack and Power Supply

Equipment inside RSIM Rack and Power Supply

Equipment inside RSIM Rack and Power Supply

The Control Station on Stonecutters Island

The Control Station on Stonecutters Island is equipped with Trimble Pivot Platform (TPP) and Trimble Coastal Control (TCC) software to monitor and control the quality and performance of broadcast correction signals. Full remote control and monitoring of the Central Reference Station components by the system operator at the Central Control Station is allowed through a 3G mobile network. The operation status of various components of the reference station system is displayed in real time on the panels at the Control Station. If any equipment/component is out of order, the system operator at the Control Station can remotely inspect the malfunction unit and manually turn it off and switch to the redundant unit. Raw GPS/GNSS data can also be remotely downloaded for storage.

A Far Field Integrity Monitor (FFIM) is also set up near the Control Station on Stonecutters Island to monitor in real time the quality of broadcast correction signals.

The major monitoring parameters of both NFIM and FFIM are:

  • Strength of the broadcasting signal
  • Signal-to-noise ratio of the broadcasting signal
  • Age of correction data
  • Number of health satellite tracked
  • Positional accuracy

Contol Station Rack

Contol Station Rack

Monitoring Panels

Monitoring Panels

Achievable accuracy in Hong Kong waters

The achievable accuracy of correction signal broadcast by the DGNSS Reference Station is highly depended on the type of receiver used. For system integrity checking, the accuracy of the broadcast correction signal is continuously monitored by the NFIM and FFIM located on Kau Yi Chau and Stonecutters Island. Further, the achievable accuracy at different locations over the territory had been evaluated by using dual frequency DGNSS receiver. The surveyed accuracies at different locations are listed as follows:

Location Achievable accuracy (1δ)
Kau Yi Chau ±0.3m
Stonecutters Island ±0.3m
Tai O Pier ±0.4m
Tai Miu Wan ±0.4m
Wong Shek Pier ±0.7m
Sha Tau Kok ±0.4m
Ping Chau ±0.6m

SYSTEM MAINTENANCE

The maintenance contractor can perform data checking and system updating by remotely logging in the reference station system. Preventive system maintenance is scheduled to be conducted quarterly.

System Maintenance Schedule

Date Period Remarks
30-11-201709:00~16:00Due to maintenance. The DGPS signal is suspended.

最新航海通告(NTM)
日期: 2017-12-15
期数: 25

电子海图最新航海通告(eNTM of HKENC)
日期: 2017-12-08
期数: 25_2017

首页 > 服务 > 差分全球定位系统修正服务

海事处的差分全球定位系统 (DGPS) 已于二零一六年三月提升为差分全球导航卫星系统 (DGNSS)。系统广播的修正讯号免费供公众使用,广播范围覆盖香港特别行政区全部水域。配备标准DGPS / GNSS接收器的用户,可利用修正讯号提高其定位的准确度。基准站系统虽已配备DGNSS功能,但由于海事无线电技术委员会 (RTCM) SC-104 版本2.4制式仍未正式使用,系统现只以2.0制式广播DGPS修正讯号。

从高空俯瞰交椅洲的 DGNSS 基准站
从高空俯瞰交椅洲的 DGNSS 基准站

系统配置

基准站系统有两个主要组成部分,即交椅洲的中央基准站及昂船洲的控制站。这两个主要组成部分以 3G流动网络连结。 系统配置
*按圖放大

广播服务的技术细节

广播时段: 24小时无间断
基站号码: 852及853
频率: 289.0 千赫
数元率: 每秒200 数元
调变模式: 最小频移键控
差分数据制式: 海事无线电技术委员会 (RTCM)
SC-104 版本2.0制式
覆盖范围: 香港特别行政区全部水域
RTCM讯息类型: 1、3、5、7及16
警告讯号: 类型16 "屏幕弹出" 讯息

交椅洲的中央基准站

交椅洲的中央基准站设有两个GNSS基准站、一个近场品质监控站 (NFIM) 及一个无线电传输系统。系统的所有仪器 (包括两台 NetR9 GNSS 基准站接收器、两台NetM3 MSK 调制器、一台 NetR9 品质监控站接收器、一组双200瓦特无线电传输器、一个设有防火墙的3G数码路由器,以及一部基准站品质监控 (RSIM) 计算机) 安装于同一个RSIM柜内。RSIM计算机以3G流动网络连接昂船洲控制站的计算机系统。两个基准站 (均配置440频道双频GNSS基准站接收器及符合大地测量标准的扼流圈天线) 设于交椅洲两个已知的测量点,一个为运作基准站,另一个为后备。接收器接收及记录在其观测范围内的卫星距离数据。比较观测所得各卫星的距离数据与其各自数值,可得出卫星距离修正值,而有关的修正讯号由无线电传输系统无间断地广播。

为监察广播修正讯号的质素,广播地点附近设有一个NFIM。NFIM与GNSS基准站一样配备DGNSS功能,并设于已知的测量点。NFIM接收广播的修正讯号,用以修正其观测所得的伪距数据,得出修正坐标;再把修正坐标与已知的测量数值比较,得出定位误差。这些误差会持续受到实时监察,以确保广播的修正讯号质素。

基准站、广播天线及防雷杆

基准站、广播天线及防雷杆

广播天线

广播天线

RSIM柜及供电装置

RSIM柜及供电装置

RSIM柜内的设备及供电装置

RSIM柜内的设备及供电装置

昂船洲的控制站

昂船洲的控制站配备Trimble Pivot Platform (TPP) 及Trimble Total Coastal (TTC) 软件,用以监控广播的修正讯号质素及表现。中央控制站的系统操作员可通过3G流动网络全面遥距控制及监察中央基准站的组件。基准站系统各组件的运作状况会实时在控制站的屏幕上显示。如任何设备 / 组件发生故障,控制站的系统操作员可遥距检查及以人手关掉发生故障的设备 / 组件,并转用后备设备 / 组件。GPS / GNSS原始数据也可遥距下载储存。

昂船洲控制站附近亦装设了一个远场品质监控站 (FFIM),在广播地点以外实时监察广播的修正讯号质素。

NFIM及FFIM的主要监察参数如下︰

  • 广播讯号强度
  • 广播讯号的讯号噪声比
  • 修正数据更新周期
  • 已追踪的健康卫星数目
  • 定位准确度

控制站柜

控制站柜

监察屏幕

监察屏幕

在本港水域可达到的准确度

利用DGNSS参考站广播的修正信号可达到的定位准确度高度取决于所使用的接收机类型。为了监控系统的可信性,广播修正信号的准确度由位于交椅洲和昂船洲的NFIM和FFIM持续监控。 此外,我们曾经使用双频DGNSS接收机来测量在本港水域不同地点采用广播修正信号定位可达到的准确度。从不同地点测量到的准确度如下:

地点 可实现的精准度(1δ)
交椅洲 ±0.3m
昂船洲 ±0.3m
大澳码头 ±0.4m
大庙湾 ±0.4m
黄石码头 ±0.7m
沙头角 ±0.4m
平洲 ±0.6m

系统维修

系统维修承办商可遥距登入基准站系统进行数据检查及系统更新。系统会定期每季进行预防性的维修。

系统维修时间表

日期 时期 备注
30-11-201709:00~16:00由于维修。 差分全球定位系统修正服务信号暂时停止。